Geelong Regional Planning Authority

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Geelong Regional Planning Authority

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

VA 2830

Description area

Dates of existence

1969 - 1977


Under an Order-in-Council published in the Victoria Government Gazette on 23 April 1969 the Geelong Regional Planning Authority was established subject to section 12 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1961. The Authority was to consist of 18 members comprising two representatives of each of the following municipalities: Geelong Geelong West Newtown Queenscliff Bannockburn Barrabool Bellarine Corio South Barwon. The Authority commenced operations on 31 July 1969. In 1975 the Geelong Regional Planning Authority Act was passed with the intention of furthering the growth and development of the Geelong area especially through the control of planning aspects. Section 28(1) of that Act states: The Geelong Regional Authority constituted under this Act shall be deemed to be the same body as the Geelong Regional Planning Authority constituted immediately before this Act. In 1977 the Geelong Regional Commission Act was proclaimed and came into effect on 1 August 1977. The new Commission (VA 426) became the successor in law to the Authority. Location of Records Some records have been transferred to the Public Record Office. See also VA 426 Geelong Regional Commission.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places